Amos Fortune, Free Man Study Guide

Sale price $22.49 Regular price $24.99

Amos Fortune, Free Man Study Guide

For the first 15 years of his life Amos Fortune was At-mun, prince of an African tribe. He always believed that, as a future king, he was to live to serve his people. But At-mun's life is turned upside down when he and many of his people are captured and brought to the United States to be sold as slaves. At-mun is purchased by a kind Quaker family, who give him the name Amos and welcome him into their home. Under the care of the Copelands, Amos learns to read and speak English, and learns about their God. When Amos comes to understand that as a child of God his royal heritage has been restored, his life is transformed.

For the rest of his life Amos continues the work he believes he was born to do: serve his people. Through the many turns his life takes Amos shows a trust and assurance in God, and though he works to achieve his own freedom and the freedom of others, he knows that true freedom can only come from faith in God.

A strong Christian man who was and still is an inspiration to others!

Through Elizabeth Yates' fascinating biography, students will learn:

About the Author: Learn about Elizabeth Yates.

Background Information: Slave trade.

Vocabulary words used throughout the novel, utilizing a variety of activities to stimulate retention and growth.

Literary Techniques: Dictionary, foreshadow, similes, metaphors, characterization, dictionary, synonym, antonym, tone, theme.

Moral Lessons and Character Values: Serve your people, all life is precious, child of God, help one another, trust God, hard work, Sabbath, freedom, contentment, money, death, walk in step with God, equality.

Activities and Writing Assignments: Research, art, map, field trip, video, poetry, story telling, writing, racism discussion, epitaph.

Suggestions for Further Reading:  We include a wonderful reading list of more books by the same author(s) and other books that tie in with, or are similar to, Amos Fortune, Free Man by Elizabeth Yates.

All of the unit lessons are written from a Christian worldview! 

  • Age Level = 9-13
  • Book Author = Carole Pelttari
  • Book Material = Paperback
  • Book Publisher = Progeny Press
  • Copyright = c1993
  • Grade Level = 5-7
  • Condition = New

Item Number: 453-59

Item ID: 36264

Category: Progeny Press