Tanglewood Tales

Regular price $6.99

Tanglewood Tales 

One of 19th-century America's greatest authors recounts timeless tales from Greek mythology in this delightful partner to A Wonder-Book for Girls and Boys. Nathaniel Hawthorne's evocative interpretations of traditional stories about heroes, sorceresses, kings, and other legendary characters provide young readers and listeners with a spellbinding introduction to classic myths.
The adventures begin with "The Minotaur," the tale of an Athenian prince's conquest of a monstrous half-man, half-bull. Other stories include "The Pygmies," concerning a friendly giant and his small-minded neighbors; "The Dragon's Teeth," recounting the birth of a team of warriors and the founding of a city; "Circe's Palace," in which an enchantress matches wits with the trickster Ulysses; "The Pomegranate Seeds," a tale of the underworld; and "The Golden Fleece," the story of an aspiring king and his quest for the shining symbol that will win a throne.

Reprint of a standard edition.


  • Age Level = 12 and up
  • Book Author = Nathaniel Hawthorne
  • Book Material = Paperback
  • Book Publisher = Dover Publications
  • Book Series = Challenge B
  • Copyright = c2018
  • Grade Level = 7th and up
  • Condition = New
  • Subject = CC Reading List

Item Number: 365-30

Item ID: 16919

Category: Tanglewood Tales